Review: The Tiny Book of Tiny Stories

The Tiny Book of Tiny Stories: Volume 1The Tiny Book of Tiny Stories: Volume 1 by Joseph Gordon-Levitt

My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I picked up this book because I recently joined the hitRECord community. The cover illustration is very cute and it makes the book kind of hard to resist (yes, I sometimes judge a book by the cover). Before today the only pictures that I saw of the book cover were online. At $10 per book I thought it was a great steal. When I finally saw it my initial thought was, ‘it’s so SMALL.’ It’s a lot smaller in real life than I expected. All of a sudden, $10 per book made a lot of sense. What I really don’t get is why Barnes and Nobel categorized the book under Humor. I had trouble finding it since I was originally looking for it under the fiction section.

Though I love the concept you can tell that some of the ‘stories’ were better than others. The artwork follows a similar trend. I guess for a book that can be considered an anthology that makes a lot of sense. You’re bound to like some more than others. I appreciated the witty stuff that got published in the book, however, I kept waiting for something with more heart. I found it in a few pieces, but I didn’t experience it with a lot of them. Don’t get me wrong, it’s a great collaboration, but I feel like it could have been a little better. I predict that this stems from the fact that the book does not have a unifying theme (but at the same time it is what makes the book fun). My favorite tiny story is titled the tiniest story. The one that confused me the most is the one about the alligator and the turtle.

I applaud the hitRECord community for producing this little book. It’s great, it’s small, and it’s easily digestible in about ten minutes. It might not be something that I would pick up again and again, but I think it’s a neat little book that everyone should take a glance at.

 

5 thoughts on “Review: The Tiny Book of Tiny Stories

  1. I sometimes judge a book by its cover too! Also by its font and paper used. My sisters think I’m weird (nothing new there). If I saw this book in a bookstore, I would have bought it too. 🙂

Leave a Reply!

