On the Island by Tracey Garvis-Graves

On the IslandOn the Island by Tracey Garvis-Graves

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I received this book for review and I am so glad that I got to read it. I’m usually pretty picky about what I read and my opinions are no way influenced by the fact that I received this for review. (I’m sure you can read the book blurb by yourself, so I won’t summarize the book.)

What I liked about the book was that it was fast-moving. It had a fast pace. The story wasn’t just all about Anna and T.J.’s time on the island, it was also about their rescue, and their life after the island. I especially liked that last touch. It was interesting seeing how the author decided to deal with their psychological changes after their rescue and how their friends and the media decided to deal with their story.

However, at times I felt like there was a lot of telling. She did this. He did that. This is what happened. Though it moved the book along, I could see some missed opportunities where the author could have really exercised her imagery and style.

I absolutely fell in love with Anna and T.J. They had wants and needs. They had dreams. They were tangible and relatable. They weren’t perfect people and on the island they had real challenges. Sometimes I felt like they got by a little bit too easily (spoiler: a suitcase with items washes up), but hey, we can’t have the characters dying on us halfway through the book.

Even better, the author did a great job exploring the older-woman-with-younger-man relationships. She made it believable, but it was also cute and romantic. I don’t think the author did anything that made me feel uncomfortable with their intimacy or their romantic actions toward each other. More so, T.J. had real male needs and Anna had her womanly needs. Awesome. The author didn’t just push it aside and ignore it. That gives her major kudos.

Overall, it was an enjoyable book. I probably wouldn’t hand it to young children or the kids in high school (even though it’s not graphic), but it’s definitely something that young adults can pick up and read. I think I would read this book again. It definitely seems like something I could pick up again in a year or so (another kudos for the book).

4 thoughts on “On the Island by Tracey Garvis-Graves

  1. I wish I could say the same with the book I am reading right now. The hope that it’ll get better is the only reason I am still reading it. So far, I am still hoping. Heh.
    Anyway, thanks for the review. Mental filing it for future reference. ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply!

