March Favorite: Olay Fresh Effects

March isn’t yet over, but I have three favorites that have already pulled far above the pack. I was kind of dying to share them with you guys. It’s Secret’s Clinical Strength deodorant, Olay Fresh Effects (with accompanying vibrating brush), and Olay Regenerist Night Recovery Cream. Two of these products I received complimentary from Influenster and the face cream my mother brought for me. I’ll be focusing on the cleansing system today.

Fresh Effects is actually a whole line, but I am most interested in their cleansing system. It comes with a vibrating wand, akin to the Olay Pro X system and the Clarisonic. However, there are a few differences that you should pay attention to.

The Olay Pro X has a soft bristle brush head that spins and uses two double A batteries. It only comes in one model and in my experience the spinning brush head is kind of scary and makes it unusable for more than a few days a week. It’s about $25 for the device and the heads do have to be replaced. However, since it’s not as popular as the Clarisonic you can’t just waltz into a Sephora and get replacements for it.

The Clarisonic is my holy grail. A lot of people swear by this. Like the Pro X system it will clean your skin more thoroughly than using your hands. However, it’s a bit on the pricy range, about $80-120 dollars depending on if you get it on sale. There are several models that you can get, but I currently own the Mia. This device is rechargeable (from any country, no converter necessary), waterproof, and the bristle brush does not spin. The whole device vibrates for a timed one minute. The brush is a lot softer than those offered by the Pro X system. The power on the vibrations is fairly decent. The downside is that replacement heads cost about $20 and you have to replace them every three months with regular use.

Now, for the Olay Fresh Effects Va-Va-Vivid cleansing system. It is a lot smaller than the Clarisonic and therefore it is a lot more portable. It’s also more affordable, a single wand costs about $12. From my experience a wand should last you about a month if you clean it well. However, the brush head is made of a soft plastic and not a bristle. It’s triangular shaped, which gets into your nose area well, but it might take a bit more work to cover your whole face.The head does not rotate, but it does vibrate. For it’s size it packs quite a powerful punch. It suds up my face wash very well. I’ve been using it with the Shine-Go-Away that came with the set and I’m loving it. It takes one AAA battery and I don’t suggest using this device regularly in the shower since I’m not sure how waterproof it is. The best part about this whole thing is that it is very portable. I used to hate carrying my Clarisonic with me on short trips since it’s bulky and semi-heavy. However, this wand is super light and super small. It’s effective! This makes it great for away trips. I just toss it into my makeup bag and I’m good to go!

You can see the whole product line at: http://www.olay.com/skin-care-products/fresh-effects

Leave a Reply!

