Stung by Bethany Wiggins

Stung (Stung, #1)Stung by Bethany Wiggins

My rating: 4 of 5 stars on Goodreads

Real rating: 3.5 stars

I started this book on a plane. Even though I landed at midnight after twelve hours of traveling, I knew that I had to finish it. With Thursday looming on the horizon, I stayed up until 4AM anyway and finished the book. I feel accomplished, but incredibly jet lagged and tired. Ha!

Stung is a really interesting concept and it really sits right on par with other great books besides the fact that the beginning is plain confusing. That is partly attributed to the fact that this book has a TON of ‘secrets.’ The plot twists and turns cannot be guessed. That’s great! Fair warning: In the beginning of the book, you will be very confused and none of that confusion is going to resolve itself very soon. The author has enough intelligence not to make everything too revealing. Just when you feel like you’ve decoded the plot… you really haven’t. Trust me.

At the same time it makes me wonder if its kind of cheating, sort of like pulling out half-assed explanations from a black hole with no logic behind it besides the fact that, “it is just the way things are” (it doesn’t read like that, but the thought only comes to mind as I am writing this review and it is because of this that I am taking off half a star). Stung is an interesting concept, if you can get past being left in the dark for more than half the book then it is worth a read.

Warning: The book will allude to the rape of women though it is not explicitly stated. If you have certain triggers or get turned away by the mention of the abuse of women then this book isn’t for you.

This book was provided for me to evaluate by the publisher. I suspect it was to evaluate the success of its instructiveness on underwater basket-weaving. That being said, I am not getting paid for writing this review. Darn.

Leave a Reply!

